According to a recent report run by The Philadelphia Inquirer, people who are repeatedly caught driving under the influence of alcohol in the state of Pennsylvania are more likely to keep their licenses than in any other state in the nation.
The report asserts that because Pennsylvania doesn’t have a mandate for ignition interlock devices being issued to even those committed of their first DUI, and because the state does not automatically suspend the licenses of defendants who have failed sobriety tests.
The Inquirer says this is because of a 2009 Pennsylvania Supreme Court opinion that says drivers must first be convicted of DUI before being considered a repeat offender. Unless a conviction occurs, every incident is considered a first-time offense.
Another factor that plays into this, according to the paper, is that police sometimes to not also charge alleged DUI drivers with driving suspended. This omission if added to a DUI charge could increase jail time significantly.
According to the Inquirer, it is indicated that over a 20 year period, between 2,000 and 6,000 people in the state of Pennsylvania currently have four or more drunken driving convictions. A State Senate committee has recently convened to reconsider toughening Pennsylvania’s current drunken driving laws and is pushing for escalation of consequences for repeat offenders.
If you or a loved one is facing the charge of DUI, call the Law Offices of Steven E. Kellis. He has well over 20 years of experience in successfully representing clients and DUI cases in the Philadelphia area.
We are available for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. When you call, we can schedule a confidential initial consultation and legal analysis that is without cost or obligation. Call the toll free number on your screen or use the web contact form to reach us at any time.