When you are arrested for driving under the influence in Pennsylvania, you are understandably frightened, especially if it is your first run-in with the law. After the dust settles, you will have questions regarding your arrest and your charges. You may also be wondering what is going to happen next. If you have discovered yourself in this situation, it is imperative that you consult with an experienced DUI defense attorney so that you can learn more about your legal options.
Pike County DUI attorney Steven E. Kellis has been representing people who have found themselves in the same situation you are facing. His experience spans two decades, meaning you can rest assured that he has the knowledge needed to assist you during this stressful time.
Prior to dedicating his career to helping people charged with DUI, Steven worked as a prosecuting attorney. Steven’s experience has provided him with an in-depth understanding of the criminal justice system in Atlanta. When you choose him to represent you, you can be sure that Steven will defend you to the absolute best of his ability. Call our office today to schedule a free case evaluation. You can reach us at (215) 940-1200.
Did You Give Consent?
Many states, including Pennsylvania, are known as implied consent states. This means that as soon as you sign your name on your driver’s license, you have said that you will consent to a chemical test requested by a law enforcement officer should you be pulled over for driving under the influence. In most cases, the test you will be asked to take is the breathalyzer. In some cases, such as those in which the driver is suspected of being under the influence of medication or illegal drugs, a blood or urine test may be requested.
While you have the right to refuse any of these tests, doing so will result in an additional charge being filed against you. When a person in Pennsylvania refuses to submit to a chemical test in Pennsylvania, they will lose their legal ability to drive for 12 months.
DUI Penalties in Pike County
If a person in Pike County is found guilty of having driven under the influence of alcohol for the first time, they face what could be considered serious consequences. When a person is convicted and they had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 to 0.09, they may be fined up to $300 and given up to 6 months of probation. The good news is that there is no mandatory jail time or license suspension for those found guilty of a first-time DUI offense.
A second offense in Pike County, presuming the same level of intoxication, could result in jail time ranging from 5 days to 6 months. A person in this situation could also face fines of up to $2,500. A person convicted of a second offense could also lose their driver’s license for 12 months. Convicted a third time and you face higher fines and a more lengthy jail sentence.
If, during the process of driving under the influence, you cause injury or property damage, or if your BAC was higher than 0.09, you could face stiffer penalties. When you are convicted of multiple DUIs, you will be required by a the law to install an interlock ignition device in your car or truck. You will also have to attend an alcohol safety class and a treatment program, and you may be required to complete community service.
It doesn’t matter if this is your first DUI charge or your fourth, you need an experienced attorney fighting by your side to protect your rights.
Going to Court
Once you have hired an attorney like Steven, they will begin to put together evidence that is important to your case. Your attorney will take the time to determine if the evidence the prosecutor is using against you was gathered in a legal way. Your attorney may file motions to suppress evidence or look for ways to refute it. In some instances, people have had their DUI cases dismissed because evidence was gathered illegally.
If your case makes it to court, your DUI attorney will fight your case or help you make a plea deal. You and your attorney will work together to determine the best decisions for your situation. When you hire Steven, he will walk you through each step of the process. Your attorney will have your best interests in mind; be sure to heed their advice.
Speak with a Pike County DUI Attorney Today
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Pike County, you need the best attorney you can find. Pike County DUI attorney Steven Kellis has been representing people against DUI charges for more than 20 years. Call today to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation.