DUI, driving under the influence, is a complex charge that carries stiff penalties upon conviction. DUI laws are complex and every DUI case is different. DUI laws in Pennsylvania were updated in 2004. DUI cases are based on the use of field sobriety tests and blood alcohol content (BAC) testing. BAC tests indicate the level of alcohol in the bloodstream. The legal BAC limit in Pennsylvania is 0.08 percent. If you have a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher, you may be charged with DUI. Failure to submit to a breath or blood test will result in separate charges that may include the suspension of your driver’s license.
It is important to understand DUI charges and penalties in Pennsylvania. The penalties for a conviction increase with multiple offenses, when your BAC is over 0.10 percent, and when you are involved in a DUI accident. An experienced DUI attorney knows the laws that apply in your case and will work to resolve your case. It is essential to get your attorney involved in your case as soon as possible.
Explore our website for further information related to DUI in Pennsylvania:
- New Pennsylvania DUI Laws
- Pennsylvania DUI Penalties
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Facing a DUI Charge Without an Experienced Attorney
- Are all PA DUIs always Alcohol-related?
- Difference Between a DUI & DWI
- Is a DUI Considered a Felony?
- Field Sobriety Test
- Refusal of Breath Test
- Reinstating Your Driver’s License
- BAC Calculator
- How to Read a Blood Alcohol Level Chart
- Expungement of Record
- DUI Child Endangerment
- DUI Glossary
- Pennsylvania Court Information