An arrest for driving under the influence in Pennsylvania can be a stressful and downright frightening experience. It may feel like your life is quickly unraveling, and you may not know what the next steps in the legal process are. Without an experienced attorney by your side, you could easily make a mistake during your case.
Schuylkill County DUI attorney Steven Kellis has the experience and knowledge you need to mount a strong defense. He has been representing clients charged with driving under the influence for over 25 years. Before representing those accused of DUI, he was a prosecutor, so he knows both sides of the law. With his experience and his relationships with local courts, he can work with the legal system to get the best possible outcome for your case.
Pennsylvania’s Implied Consent Law
In the state of Pennsylvania, by obtaining your driver’s license, you automatically consent to taking a breathalyzer or other chemical test if you are pulled over. This is known as an implied consent law. Police officers usually use a breathalyzer to determine how much alcohol is in your system. In some cases, such as if you are suspected of being under the influence of drugs, a blood or urine test will be administered instead.
Legally, you do have the right to refuse a chemical test. However, there are consequences for doing so. Your license will be suspended for at least a year, on top of any penalties for the DUI itself. Even if you are found not guilty of DUI, you still face the suspension. So depending on your blood alcohol content (BAC), you could face a license suspension for up to two and a half years.
Penalties for a DUI
The penalties you could face for driving under the influence depend on your blood alcohol content and any prior DUI convictions. For a first offense, you could face penalties ranging from up to 6 months probation and fines up to $300, up to no less than 3 days in jail, fines up to $5,000 and/or a 12 month license suspension.
For a second offense, you could spend 5 days to 5 years in jail, face a fine from $300 to $10,000, and a license suspension from 12 to 18 months. With a third offense, you face fines between $500 and $10,000, up to 5 years in prison and up to 18 months without a license. In addition, second and third offenses require the installation of an ignition interlock device. You may also have to attend different alcohol treatment classes.
Whether it’s your first DUI charge or your fifth, it’s crucial you have a Schuylkill County DUI attorney by your side. Steven Kellis knows and understands Pennsylvania law, and can provide a strong defense in court. Contact him today for a free consultation.
Mounting a Strong Defense
After you hire a DUI defense attorney, they will begin the discovery process. During this period, they will gather and analyze all evidence, from breathalyzer results to statements from the arresting officer. From there, your attorney will file all necessary motions to have improperly gathered evidence suppressed or thrown out, if applicable, and will begin mounting your defense based on their own evidence.
To resolve your case, you will need to either fight the charges in court, or enter a plea agreement with the courts. After your attorney reviews all the evidence, they will advise the best course of action for your unique case. It’s important to consider all of your options, as a DUI conviction could have a serious impact on your live.
Contact a Schuylkill County DUI Lawyer Today
If you have been charged with DUI in Schuylkill County, contact Steven E. Kellis today for a free consultation. During this initial consultation, he will review the available facts of the case and explore your legal options with you. Time is not on your side; call today.