Month: July 2018

10 Things You Could Buy with the Money You'd Have to Spend on a DUI

10 Things You Could Buy with the Money You’d Have to Spend on a DUI

FAST FACTS

  • In 2016, there were 297 alcohol-related fatalities on Pennsylvania roads.
  • More than 9,000 people involved in crashes were found to be impaired.
  • 25% of traffic fatalities were alcohol-related.

When a person is convicted of driving under the influence in Pennsylvania, they face a series of penalties. Jail time, license suspensions, fines and court costs all make a DUI conviction something to be avoided.

The minimum fine for a first time DUI conviction is $300. To put that in perspective, we’ve put together a list of things you could spend that kind of money on that could bring joy to your life.

10 Things You Could Buy with the Money You'd Have to Spend on a DUI infographic

View/Download PDF

1. Season Passes

If you live in Pennsylvania, you have access to parks like Kennywood and Hershey. Your neighbor, Ohio, has one of the most popular amusement parks in the midwest: Cedar Point.

For $300, you could buy two premium season passes to Kennywood, a season pass to Hershey Park and a couple tickets for your friends, or two season passes to Cedar Point.Read More

Can Uber Actually Reduce DUIs in Pennsylvania

Can Uber Actually Reduce DUIs in Pennsylvania?

FAST FACTS

  • 4,663 people were killed in drunk-driving related crashes in Pennsylvania between 2003 and 2012.
  • Men were more likely to be involved in fatal accidents in 2012.
  • 1.8 percent of drivers admitted to operating their vehicle after having drank too much.

Drunk driving remains a problem, despite campaigns to curtail the behavior. In the state of Pennsylvania, a driver is considered too impaired to drive once their blood alcohol content reaches 0.8 percent or higher.

For some people, this means a few drinks consumed within a couple of hours. For others, it means only one or two. There are too many variables when it comes to blood alcohol content to know how high you will register. The best idea is this: If you have a single adult beverage, don’t drive.

Many people claim that they have driven while impaired simply because they had no other way to get home. While this may have been true in the past, ride sharing services like Uber make catching a ride home and then back to your car in the morning as easy as tapping your phone.Read More