Being arrested for driving under the influence for the first time is stressful. Not only do you have to deal with an arrest, but you are experiencing something with which you have no prior knowledge. What will happen? Will you go to jail? Pay fines? Your mind is naturally overwhelmed with questions. To help you determine your next steps, here is what you can reasonably expect after being charged with DUI in Pennsylvania for the first time.
In Pennsylvania, those charged with a first-offense DUI do not face a mandatory license suspension if their blood alcohol content falls at or below 0.099. For those who have a BAC range between 0.10 and 0.159, there is a mandatory license suspension of up to one year. A BAC range above 0.16 carries a mandatory suspension of one year with the possibility of any hardship license not being granted during the first two months of the suspension.
In many cases, probation is ordered in the event of a conviction of driving under the influence for a first offense. There is a mandatory six month probation period and fines that will cost at least $300. This fine is not inclusive of any costs associated with probation. It can be difficult to determine what the costs associated with probation will be until such probation is ordered.
When the BAC falls between 0.10 and 0.159, there is a mandatory jail time of two days and a maximum of six months. Fines will not reach over $5,000. For those convicted of a first-time DUI with a BAC above .16, there is a mandatory three days in jail with a maximum of six months. Fines again can reach a maximum of $5,000.
Being charged with a DUI in Philadelphia is a serious issue. Even if you do not face jail time, the financial ramifications of a DUI can be devastating. If you are arrested and charged with driving under the influence, you need an experienced attorney who can mount a strong defense. Call our team today and schedule an appointment for a free case evaluation.