How much does a DUI attorney cost?

how much does a dui attorney cost

Truthfully, the cost of legal representation can vary greatly. Each DUI case may involve different fines and penalties. For this reason, we can’t tell you exactly how much your case would cost before speaking with you. 

However, we can tell you that Kellis Law Firm is one of the most acclaimed and affordable DUI defense firms in the state.

If you’re wondering how much a DUI attorney costs, a better question to ask is “How much would it cost me to not hire an attorney?” As we discuss below, it could make much more financial sense to hire an attorney and fight the charge than to just accept it and be at the mercy of the state prosecutor. 

Keep reading for more information. If you were charged with DUI, call Kellis Law Firm at 215-977-4183.

Average Cost of a DUI Lawyer


According to consumer-provider matching site Thervo, the average national cost for a DUI lawyer is $1,900. 

Now, before you write that off as “way too much money,” consider how much you’ll likely have to pay for the DUI itself, in terms of fines, fees, alcohol safety courses, and more.

Thervo sets the national minimum cost for a DUI attorney at $700 and the maximum at $5,000. The $700 figure represents the low-end cost of accepting a plea deal; $1,500 is the estimated high-end cost of accepting a plea deal. Going to trial on average will cost you $1,500 to $4,000. 

Keep in mind that a $700 lawyer may not exercise all of the options available to them in having your charge dropped or reduced. When it comes to a possible jail sentence and heavy fines, you don’t want to go in with the mindset that “cheaper is better.”

Fines for DUI Are Steep in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, fees for a first-time DUI alone (excluding lawyer fees) can range from about $3,000 to over $8,000. Remember, that’s just for a first-time DUI – the more DUIs you have, the higher the fines.

These are just some of the expenses you’ll have to pay if you are convicted of a first-time DUI:

  • $300 minimum fine
  • $2,000 to $6,000 insurance increase
  • $50 penalty assessment
  • $100 state restitution fund
  • $50 alcohol abuse education fund
  • $37 blood/breath testing fee
  • $375 driving/alcohol awareness school
  • $60 license reinsure fee

Why hire a DUI attorney?

A simple DUI case may be resolved quite easily, while a more complex DUI case could be longer and more involved. In every case, it’s best to choose a DUI attorney with experience working specifically on DUI cases. This will give you the best representation at the best price. 

However, it’s important to note that an attorney will be cheaper than the DUI charge itself after expenses like increased insurance prices are factored in.

If you’ve been arrested and charged with a DUI, contact us today for a free consultation. Our expert staff will analyze your case and recommend different legal steps to take. Call 215-977-4183 now.