“Wet reckless” is a nickname for reckless driving. It’s actually a reduced plea arrangement that carries fewer punishments and costs than a typical DUI charge. This is because reckless driving is a less serious offense than DUI in the state of Pennsylvania.
Depending on the specific circumstances of your arrest, you may be eligible for a wet reckless plea deal – but it’s highly unlikely for a judge to offer you such a deal without the help and strong defense of a Pennsylvania DUI attorney.
Keep reading to learn more about wet reckless plea deals, then call the Law Offices of Steven E. Kellis at (215) 977-4183.
What are the penalties for a wet reckless?
Even though a wet reckless is a lesser charge than DUI, you’ll still face several penalties if you plead guilty. In Pennsylvania, you could face the following penalties:
- Minimum fine of $200
- Four points on your driving record
- Alcohol education or treatment
- Possible jail time up to 90 days
- Possible six-month license suspension (first offense)
Wet reckless shares the same penalties as reckless driving, but with one major difference: you must successfully complete a state-approved alcohol education and/or treatment course. You probably noticed the “possible” charges in this list; usually, these penalties don’t apply to first-time offenders who plead wet reckless.
For more detailed information about the penalties you may face, contact Pennsylvania DUI attorney Steven E. Kellis at (215) 977-4183.
Benefits of a Wet Reckless Charge
The greatest benefit of a wet reckless charge is, as mentioned above, the fact that you’ll face less severe penalties, and you won’t have to live with a DUI conviction on your record. That’s a huge benefit if you’re looking to move to a new home or applying for school or work.
You’ll also face lower fines and less potential jail time than if you’d been convicted of DUI, and you’ll probably be able to keep your license. If your license is suspended, it’ll only be for up to six months, if it’s your first offense.
What are the chances I’ll be offered a wet reckless?
We can’t give a definite answer to this question without knowing the specifics of your case, but we can explain some of the most important factors that could hinder your chance of being offered a wet reckless plea bargain.
You may not be eligible for a plea bargain if any of the following are true in your case:
- Your BAC was higher than 0.08%
- You have a previous DUI conviction
- There are other criminal offenses on your record
- You have a long list of traffic offenses and speeding tickets
- You received other charges at the time of the DUI (hit-and-run, resisted arrest, etc.)
It’s important to remember that just because one of the above factors applies to you, you won’t necessarily be prohibited from pleading wet reckless. The only way to know your legal options is to speak with an experienced DUI attorney in Pennsylvania.
The worst thing you can do is assume that you’re out of options. Attorney Steven Kellis will explore every opportunity to have your charges dropped or reduced, and he’ll work hard on your behalf to obtain the best result.
Call our office at (215) 977-4183 now.
Fighting for Reduced Charges – Fighting for You
Driving under the influence is a big mistake. Everyone knows this, but hardly anyone expects to be arrested for DUI. Here’s the important thing: just because you were arrested for DUI doesn’t mean you’re guilty of DUI.
There are plenty of instances where evidence is false or misleading, and attorney Steven Kellis has had entire cases dropped where the evidence against his client was severely lacking. If you were arrested for DUI, know that you still have legal options. This is not the end of the road for you.
Call the Law Offices of Steven E. Kellis at (815) 977-4183 to learn more about those options.