If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence, you will probably be dealing with a mix of emotions. Stress, anxiety, anger, and fear over what comes next. When you are dealing with your first offense, the unknown can make things worse.
Call a Lawyer Right Away
It’s important at this point to consult with an attorney who focuses on DUI defense. This way, you can get a clear picture of what is coming and determine what legal options you have. Our DUI lawyers are standing by, ready to help you through this very trying ordeal.
At The Law Offices of Steven E. Kellis, our Broomall DUI lawyers have been representing people who have been charged with DUI for over 20 years. Steven Kellis has made it his life’s mission to defend people facing charges just like yours.
Prior to dedicating his life to being a defense attorney, Steven was in the prosecutor’s office. This experience has given Steven a unique insight into the inner workings of the local court system. He will use this knowledge in order to build the strongest defense possible. Speak to a Broomall DUI lawyer today by calling (215) 940-1200 or contacting us online.
Implied Consent in Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania, like many others in the country, has what is known as “implied consent.” This means that any person who has a legal driver’s license has agreed that they will submit to any chemical test requested by a law enforcement officer. If the officer suspects the person is under the influence of drugs or alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, they request a test.
In typical cases, the officer will ask that the driver submit to a breathalyzer test. In other instances, the officer may request that the driver undergo a chemical analysis of their blood or urine.
Though you have provided implied consent, you maintain the right to refuse such a test. If you do, however, you should be aware of the consequences. If you refuse, your license can be automatically suspended for 12 months. If you are found guilty of the driving under the influence charge, you could face an additional license suspension.
Penalties for DUI in Adams County
Any person who is convicted of DUI in Adams County faces consequences they may not want to be forced to deal with. The following penalties apply to those found guilty of DUI:
Between 0.08 and 0.09 Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
- First offense: Up to 6 months of probation and fines of no more than $300.
- Second offense: Up to 6 months in jail and fines in the thousands, along with a 12-month license suspension.
- Subsequent offenses: Up to 2 years in jail, a 12-month license suspension and high fines. The greater the number of offenses, the more severe the consequences.
Between 0.10 and 0.16 Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
- First offense: Up to 6 months of probation and fines between $500 and $5,000, along with a 12-month license suspension.
- Second offense: Up to 6 months in jail and fines between $750 and $5,000, along with a 12-month license suspension.
- Subsequent offenses: Up to 5 years in jail, fines up to $10,000 and a license suspension of 18 months. The greater the number of offenses, the more severe the consequences.
Above 0.16 Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
- First offense: Up to 6 months of probation and fines between $1,000 and $5,000, along with a 12-month license suspension.
- Second offense: Up to 5 years in jail and fines between $1,500 and $10,000, along with an 18-month license suspension.
- Subsequent offenses (felonies): 1-5 years in jail, fines up to $10,000 and a license suspension of 18 months. The greater the number of offenses, the more severe the consequences.
Property Damage or Injury
If you are convicted of driving under the influence and causing property damage or injury, and if your blood alcohol concentration was greater than 0.09, you face harsher penalties. For subsequent convictions, you will have to install an interlock ignition device on your vehicle, attend a treatment program and safety class, and perhaps complete community service.
It is important that you speak to a Broomall DUI lawyer as soon as possible after you have been arrested for driving under the influence.
The Pennsylvania DUI Process
Once you have hired a Pennsylvania DUI defense attorney, they will begin to work hard on your defense. They’ll look at the evidence the prosecutor is planning on using against you, and file motions on your behalf if applicable.
Should your case end up in court, your lawyer will fight for your rights using knowledge and experience. They’ll work tirelessly to help ensure you receive the most favorable outcome possible. Expect nothing less from a qualified attorney.
Speak with a Broomall DUI Lawyer Today
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Adams County, you need to reach out to Broomall DUI lawyer Steven E. Kellis as soon as possible. Time is of the essence. You can trust that Steven will fight as hard as he can on your behalf. Call us at (215) 940-1200 or contact us online for a free, no-obligation consultation today.
Our Pennsylvania attorneys defend those facing DUI, drug crime and criminal charges throughout Eastern Pennsylvania including Abington, Allentown, Bensalem, Bethlehem, Bristol, Broomall, Cheltenham, Conshohocken, Doylestown, Easton, Feasterville, Gettysburg, Jim Thorpe, Lancaster, Lansdale, Lansdowne, Lower Merion, Media, Norristown, Philadelphia, Pottstown, Reading, Trevose, Upper Darby, Upper Dublin, and Upper Providence.