What Are The Consequences of an Arrest For a First-Time DUI in PA?

The penalties and consequences for someone who has been arrested for a DUI for the first time depend on various factors. One of these factors is what was the amount of alcohol in the person’s system. What was his BAC level? Was there alcohol? Was there anything else such as prescription medication or illegal narcotics in his system? The reason that’s important is because here in the state of Pennsylvania we do have the three tier system, Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, which is determative of what the penalties and fees are going to be in a first time DUI case. If someone is at the highest tier, he’s at the highest rate, then that person would have a BAC of .16 percent or above, which is twice the legal limit or above, or would have prescription medication or illegal narcotics in his system, or possibly may have refused to take the chemical test. That person would be in Tier 3.

So the penalties for a first DUI if you’re in the highest tier would be a 72 hour to six month jail sentence, also must pay a $1,500 fine would easily be the minimum fine, and it could go up to $5,000 as well, and also the person would have to do some community service depending on which county the DUI occurred, and the usual CRN which is the alcohol evaluation interview and safe driving classes. If someone happens to have a BAC between .10 and .16, then they would be in the second tier, Tier 2, and that’s the high rate of alcohol. Then it would be a 48 hour to six month jail sentence. In both Tier 2 and Tier 3 you’re subject to a one year suspension of your driver’s license, which is very important than obviously to have a competent DUI lawyer who can possibly get you out of that situation or get you into the First Offender Program.

If you happen to be in the general observation area, either a .08 or .10, then you’re in Tier 1. It’s the lowest tier. There is no jail time to be in Tier 1 and also there is no license suspension as well, and that is if you are a first time offender.

Mr. Kellis has used his 25 years of jury trial experience and his dedication to exclusively defend clients against DUI charges to help them avoid the severe penalties of a first-time DUI offense. Contact Mr. Kellis for an immediate free consultation, and learn more about the strong defense that he can provide for you in your first-time DUI case.

Related articles :

Penalties For 1st, 2nd And 3rd DUI In Pennsylvania

BAC Calculator

Is A DUI A Felony in PA?

Is It Possible to Defend a DUI Charge Without an Attorney?

After my First DUI, Can I Take Classes to Avoid Jail?

How much does a DUI attorney cost?