Northampton County Extreme DUI

The state of Pennsylvania operates under a tiered system regarding DUI penalties based on a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC). General impairment is a BAC of 0.08% to 0.099%, a BAC is considered high if it is 0.10% to 0.159%, and the highest BAC is 0.16% and up. Logically, the higher the level of impairment, the stricter the penalties.

DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania

For the highest level DUI, the penalties typically include:

1st offense:

  • One year license suspension
  • Seventy-two hours to six months in jail
  • Fines between $1,000 –  $5,000
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school
  • Court-ordered alcohol and drug treatment

2nd offense:

  • First degree misdemeanor charge
  • Automatic 18-month license suspension
  • Ninety days to five years imprisonment
  • $1,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • Mandatory alcohol highway safety school
  • Court-ordered alcohol and drug treatment.
  • Ignition interlock system for one year

3rd and subsequent offenses

  • First degree misdemeanor charge
  • Automatic 18-month license suspension
  • One to five years in jail
  • $2,500 to $10,000 in fines
  • Court-ordered alcohol and drug treatment
  • Ignition interlock system for one year

Besides the court-ordered penalties, your car insurance rates are likely to go up (sometimes even triple), something that might haunt you for the rest of your driving life. In some cases your insurance carrier might drop you and you might have difficulty finding other affordable coverage.

Pennsylvania DUI attorney Steven Kellis has more than two decades of experience defending charges and focuses on Pennsylvania DUI law. If you are facing extreme DUI charges in Northampton County, Mr. Kellis will thoroughly examine your case and work on keeping your record clear by getting the charges against you reduced or dismissed entirely. Contact the law office of Steven Kellis today to schedule your free case evaluation.