DUI Calculator

Driving under the influence, known as DUI, is a serious offense that can carry serious consequences if convicted. These consequences include your driver’s license being suspended or revoked, probation, jail time and hefty fines. Driving under the influence can also result in job loss as well as rising car insurance premiums. The national average cost of a first-time DUI is approximately $10,000 and varies from state to state. In Pennsylvania, the total cost of a first-time DUI is anywhere from $5,482 to $9,482.

Comparison Cost of DUI

Low to High Gradient

Line Break


Washington

Minimum Fine$800
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$150
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,222 to $10,622

Oregon

Minimum Fine$1,000
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$105
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$25
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$150
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$75
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,440 to $10,840

California

Minimum Fine$390
Auto Insurance Increase$2,200 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$667
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$37
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$20
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$55
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$6,394 to $10,194

Nevada

Minimum Fine$400
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$142
State Restitution Fund$0
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$35
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$60
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$0
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$120
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,232 to $9,632

Idaho

Minimum Fine$1,000
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$245
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,517 to $10,917

Arizona

Minimum Fine$250
Auto Insurance Increase$1,800 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$40
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$5,762 to $9,962

New Mexico

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$25
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,797 to $10,197

Utah

Minimum Fine$1,000
Auto Insurance Increase$4,500 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$250
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$150
License Reissue Fee$235
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,832 to $10,332

Montana

Minimum Fine$300
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$150
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,722 to $10,122

Wyoming

Minimum Fine$200
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$50
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,522 to $9,922

Colorado

Minimum Fine$300
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$95
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,667 to $10,067

Texas

Minimum Fine$2,000
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$180
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$25
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$30
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$57
License Reissue Fee$100
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$9,102 to $11,502

North Dakota

Minimum Fine$250
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$100
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,622 to $10,022

South Dakota

Minimum Fine$400
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$400
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$250
License Reissue Fee$50
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,397 to $9,797

Nebraska

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$125
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,897 to $10,297

Kansas

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$100
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,872 to $10,272

Oklahoma

Minimum Fine$300
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$50
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,622 to $10,022

Minnesota

Minimum Fine$1,000
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$130
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$704
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$9,069 to $11,469

Iowa

Minimum Fine$1,000
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$200
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,472 to $10,872

Missouri

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$45
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,817 to $10,217

Arkansas

Minimum Fine$150
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$150
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,572 to $9,972

Louisiana

Minimum Fine$300
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$100
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,672 to $10,072

Wisconsin

Minimum Fine$150
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$365
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$60
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,247 to $9,647

Illinois

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$150
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$250
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,685 to $10,085

Michigan

Minimum Fine$100
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$1,000
State Restitution Fund$700
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$250
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$200
License Reissue Fee$125
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,562 to $10,962

Indiana

Minimum Fine$1,000
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$150
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,422 to $10,822

Kentucky

Minimum Fine$200
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$40
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,512 to $9,912

Tennessee

Minimum Fine$350
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$100
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,722 to $10,122

Mississippi

Minimum Fine$250
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$75
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,597 to $9,997

Alabama

Minimum Fine$600
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$275
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,147 to $10,547

Georgia

Minimum Fine$300
Auto Insurance Increase$4,500 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$30
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$30
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$25
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$287
License Reissue Fee$200
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,009 to $9,509

South Carolina

Minimum Fine$400
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$100
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,772 to $10,172

North Carolina

Minimum Fine$100
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$50
State Restitution Fund$393
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$75
License Reissue Fee$75
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$6,890 to $9,290

Florida

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$3,300 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$200
License Reissue Fee$150
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,447 to $10,147

Virginia

Minimum Fine$250
Auto Insurance Increase$1,800 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$1,000
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$160
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$6,782 to $10,982

West Virginia

Minimum Fine$100
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$50
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,422 to $9,822

Ohio

Minimum Fine$200
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$100
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$500
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,472 to $9,872

Maryland

Minimum Fine$1,000
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$75
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,347 to $10,747

Delaware

Minimum Fine$230
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$144
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,646 to $10,046

New Jersey

Minimum Fine$300
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$3,000
State Restitution Fund$405
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$100
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$100
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$10,427 to $12,827

Pennsylvania

Minimum Fine$300
Auto Insurance Increase$2,000 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$50
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$60
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$5,482 to $9,482

New York

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$2,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$175
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$175
License Reissue Fee$75
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$6,222 to $9,622

Connecticut

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$175
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,947 to $10,347

Rhode Island

Minimum Fine$300
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$75
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,647 to $10,047

Massachusetts

Minimum Fine$500
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$1,080
State Restitution Fund$125
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$0
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$180
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$574
License Reissue Fee$500
Attorney Fees (average)$5,000
Total:$11,609 to $14,009

Vermont

Minimum Fine$750
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$65
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$8,087 to $10,487

New Hampshire

Minimum Fine$350
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$50
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$100
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,722 to $10,122

Maine

Minimum Fine$400
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$600
State Restitution Fund$130
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$10
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$37
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$375
License Reissue Fee$50
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$7,712 to $10,112

Hawaii

Minimum Fine$150
Auto Insurance Increase$3,600 to $6,000
Penalty Assessment$250
State Restitution Fund$100
Alcohol-Abuse Education Fund$30
Blood/Breath Testing Fee$25
Jail-Cite-and-Release Fee$10
Driving/Alcohol-Awareness School$107
License Reissue Fee$20
Attorney Fees (average)$2,500
Total:$6,792 to $9,192