Underage DUI

kellis-underage-dui DUI laws in Pennsylvania are designed for adults over the legal drinking age of 21. Those who are under the age of 21 are considered minors. While it is illegal for minors to drink alcohol, specific Pennsylvania laws address minors who have been found to be drinking and driving. There is a “no tolerance” policy to underage DUI as well as a lowered blood alcohol content that applies to minors in this category. Specific penalties have been created for those who are convicted of underage DUI.

What Happens When a Minor Is Arrested for Underage DUI

The state of Pennsylvania has clear laws that do not allow underage drinking. Most minors run into problems because they were drinking at a party when they weren’t supposed to, and then drove home. Young drinkers may become intoxicated more easily than older individuals and they may not understand that they become impaired quickly when they drink. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) for minors is 0.00 percent. For adults, the BAC is 0.08 percent. What this means is that if a minor is stopped by police, the officer may charge the driver with Philadelphia underage DUI if he detects even a slight amount of alcohol. The penalties for underage DUI are severe.

Penalties for Underage DUI

It is important to understand that the minor will face penalties if found guilty of underage DUI. Minors are not allowed to consume any amount of alcohol, so if a minor is found to have any alcohol in their system it is illegal. Minors must follow specific rules as set forth by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.

Minors who are found to have alcohol in their system may face penalties that include:

  • Driver’s license suspension up to three months if any alcohol is found in the system
  • Fines

Minors who are found guilty of underage DUI (BAC of 0.02 percent or higher) face additional penalties including:

  • Jail for at least 48 hours
  • Fines between $500 to $5,000
  • Attend alcohol driving safety classes

Contact a Defense Attorney WhenUnderage DUI Charges Surface

If your child has been arrested for underage DUI in Philadelphia, it is important to take legal action as soon as possible. Contact the Law Offices of Steven E. Kellis today for a free consultation. Learn how you can help your child fight these charges. Steven Kellis has 20 years of jury trial experience and is nationally certified in field sobriety testing. Let a reputable litigator guide you and your child to a resolution.

Call the Law Offices of Steven E. Kellis today at (215) 940-1200 – available 24 hours a day. Or complete our website form if you prefer to contact us more discreetly.