If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, you are dealing with emotions that you may rarely feel hit you at the same time. You are stressed, anxious, angry and maybe even afraid. Part of the emotions you are feeling is that expectation of what comes next. When you are dealing with your first offense, the unknown can make things worse. It is important at this point to consult with an attorney who specializes in DUI defense so that you can get a clear picture of what is coming your way and to determine the legal options you have.
Adams County DUI lawyer Steven E. Kellis has been representing people who have been charged with DUI for more than 20 years. He has made it his life’s mission to defend people facing charges just like yours. Prior to dedicating his life as a defense attorney, Steven was in the prosecutor’s office. This experience has given Steven a unique insight into the inner workings of the local court system. He will use this knowledge in order to build the strongest case for your defense that he can. Call our office today at (215) 940-1200 for a free case evaluation.
Implied Consent in Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania, like many others in the country, have what is known as implied consent. This means that any person who has a legal driver’s license has agreed that they will submit to any chemical test requested by a law enforcement officer when that officer suspects the person is under the influence of drugs or alcohol while operating a motor vehicle. In typical cases, the officer will request that the driver submit to a breathalyzer test. In other instances, the officer may request that the driver undergoes a chemical analysis of their blood or urine.
Though you have provided implied consent, you maintain the right to refuse such a test. If you do, however, you should be aware of the consequences. If you do refuse, your license can be automatically suspended for 12 months. If you are found guilty of the driving under the influence charge, you could face an additional license suspension.
Penalties for DUI in Adams County
Any person who is convicted of DUI in Adams County faces consequences they may not want to be forced to deal with. The following penalties apply to those found guilty of DUI:
Between 0.08 and 0.09 BAC
- First offense: Up to 6 months of probation and fines of no more than $300.
- Second offense: Up to 6 months in jail and fines in the thousands, along with a license suspension.
- Subsequent offenses: Up to 2 years in jail, a license suspension and high fines. The greater the number of offenses, the more severe the consequences.
Property Damage or Injury
If you are convicted of driving under the influence and causing property damage or injury, and if your blood alcohol concentration was greater than 0.09, you face harsher penalties. For subsequent convictions, you will have to install an interlock ignition device on your vehicle, attend a treatment program and safety class, and perhaps complete community service.
It is important that you have the most competent and experienced attorney you can find.
Going to Court
Once you have hired Steven, he will begin to work hard on your defense. He will look at the evidence the prosecutor is planning on using against you, and he will file motions on your behalf if applicable.
Should your case end up in court, Steven will fight for your rights with all of his knowledge and experience. He will work tirelessly to help ensure you receive the most favorable outcome possible.
Speak with an Adams County DUI Lawyer Today
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Adams County, you need to reach out to DUI attorney Steven E. Kellis as soon as possible. Time is of the essence. You can trust that Steven will fight as hard as he can on your behalf. Call the office today to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation.